Tag Archives: 2016

Year End Arrangements for 2016

As we come towards Christmas and the New Year we have some changes to the usual routine arrangements. As our usual courts at Wakehurst are either busy or closed we will be changing location or skipping some days over the next few weeks. Here are the arrangements for December 2016 and January 2017

  • Sunday 18th December – Round Robin at Belrose
  • Wednesday 21st December normal tennis at Wakehurst
  • Sunday 25th December – NO TENNIS
  • Wednesday 28th December – NO TENNIS
  • Sunday 1st January – NO TENNIS
  • Wednesday 4th January – normal tennis at Wakehurst
  • Sunday 8th January – Tennis at Belrose as Wakehurst are running a tournament
  • Wednesday 11th January – NO TENNIS as the Wakehurst tournament continues and Belrose is not available to us
  • Sunday 15th January – back to normal tennis at Wakehurst

2016 Club Championships – Results

We have finished playing the 2016 Club Championships and the results of the finals are as follows:

Mens Singles

Winner – Lindsay Phillips who beat Ben Pollock in the final 6-4, 6-3

Mens Doubles

Winners – Lindsay Phillips and Ben Pollock who defeated Mike Marr and Paul Bickell in the final 7-5, 6-0

Mixed Doubles

Winners – Lindsay Phillips and Stephanie Phillips who beat Paul Bickell and Sharon Johnson in the final 6-4, 7-5

Womens Singles

Winner – Natasha Jacobs who defeated Melinda Gray in the final 6-3, 6-0

Womens Doubles

Winners – Lisa Rush and Michelle Stevens who beat Sharon Johnson and Natasha Jacobs in the final 6-3, 3-1 (forfeit due to injury)

Well done to all those who entered and congratulations to the winners. Many thanks from the club to those who helped with the organisation especially
Club Captain Chris Bird, Vice Captains: Ray Dummett, Anthony Thompson and Lindsay Phillips

2016 AGM Agenda

The 30th Annual General Meeting of the Wakehurst Tennis Club will be held on Sunday the 14th of February, 2016 at 12.30pm at Wakehurst Golf Club, Seaforth.


  1. Apologies
  2. To receive and adopt the Minutes of the last AGM for 2015
  3. To receive and adopt the President’s Report
  4. To receive and adopt the Club Captain’s Report
  5. To receive and adopt the Treasurer’s Report
  6. Election of Office Bearers
  7. Any other business


All Members and Players of the Club are encouraged to attend the meeting. Only club members who are full financial members at the time of the meeting are entitled to vote. Only full club members who are present at the meeting are entitled to vote. No proxies will be accepted. The Committee /office bearers will consist of

  • President/Treasurer
  • Secretary
  • Club Captain
  • Social Secretary or secretaries
  • The Vice Captains are by appointment only and help to direct play at the two sessions of tennis.