# Wakehurst Social Tennis Club – The Friendly Club

Minutes of the 35th Annual General Meeting, held on 28th February 2021 @ 12.10pm

**Opening**: The annual general meeting of the Wakehurst Social Tennis Club was called to order at 12:10pm on Sunday the 28 of February 2021 at Wakehurst Golf Club by Wendy Sullivan.

#### Present:

Wendy Sullivan Cathy Buck Lindsay Phillips
Elaine Dudgeon Ning Stewart Anthony Thompson
Ray Dummett Mari Swinbanks Elaine Wooffindin

Stephanie Phillips Lisa Rush Chris Buck
Julia Kia Roy Shackley John Touhy

Melissa Sergeant

#### Guests:

Melinda Gray

### Apologies:

Alan Howes Heather Olsen Andy Todd

Chris Bird

The president invited a representative of the Tennis Centre management to attend, but this was declined

# A. Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the previous annual general meeting (submitted by Stephanie Phillips) on the 22<sup>nd</sup> of February 2020 were unanimously approved. (SP / WS)

# **B. President's Report**

Wendy Sullivan presented the President's Report. A proposal to adopt the report was proposed by Stephanie Phillips, seconded by Anthony Thompson and unanimously approved by those present. A copy of the report is included as Appendix A.

## C. Treasurer's Report

Ning Stewart presented the Treasurer's report. A proposal to adopt the report was put by Lindsay Phillips, seconded by Ray Dummett and approved unanimously by those present. A copy of the report is included as Appendix B. A discussion about the \$ value of reserves ensued and a \$3,000 surplus was considered adequate. (Proposed LJP sec AT unanimously carried).

### D. Election of Officers

The current committee stood down from their posts and elections were held for a committee to serve during 2021. Wendy Sullivan stepped down after 3 years. Wendy was thanked by V-P Melinda Gray and presented with a gift.

Melinda called for nominations for President.

President: Lindsay Phillips was nominated by Ning Stewart and seconded by Ray Dummett. Lindsay Phillips was elected unanimously. Lindsay took the Chair.

Vice President: Roy Shackley was nominated by Wendy Sullivan and seconded by Lindsay Phillips. Roy was elected unanimously.

Treasurer: Ning Stewart was nominated by Ray Dummett and seconded by Anthony Thompson. Ning Stewart was elected unanimously.

Assistant Treasurer: Lisa Rush was appointed by Ning Stewart.

Secretary: Cathy Buck was nominated by Lindsay Phillips and seconded by Ray Dummett. Elected unanimously.

Captains: Melissa Sergeant, John Touhy, Anthony Thompson were nominated by Wendy Sullivan and seconded by Ning Stewart. Mel, Anthony & John were elected unanimously.

Vice-Captains: Mel, Anthony & John co-opted the following members to act as Vice Captains: Chris Bird, Ray Dummett, Albert Rohrer, Iain Matthews and Elaine Wooffindin.

Social Secretary: Mari Swinbanks, Heather Olsen, Elaine Wooffindin were unanimously elected.

Tournament Directors: Ray Dummett, Chris Buck.

Webmaster: Chris Buck was appointed by Lindsay Phillips.

Facebook/ Instagram Co-ordinator: Elaine Wooffindin was appointed by LJP.

### E. Any Other Business

**Future of the Club:** Discussion about the poor quality of the facilities. The lease is being renegotiated. LJP to pursue.

**Club Championships:** Need to have a club championship at all was debated. Tournament Director Ray Dummett announced the format would be reviewed. Strict criteria of attendance and participation will be overseen by Ray. Details will follow.

**Tennis Etiquette:** Serving from both ends. Proposed by RD / SP. For 11, against 3. Motion carried Short deuce at all times. Carried The meeting was reminded of the etiquette as discussed at least years AGM: Return balls to the server, Do not return a fault (if you can avoid it), Server to call score before commencing a new game and before serving, Call your end only, and only after the ball has bounced, No talking during the points, When in doubt, the ball is in.

**Close**: The date of the next annual general meeting will be nominated at the end of 2021.

Lindsay Phillips adjourned the meeting at 12:55pm.

**Appendix A –** President's Report

**Appendix B –** Treasurer's & Finance Report

## Winners of the 2020 Club Championships:

Mixed Doubles: Stephanie & Charlie Phillips

Ladies' Doubles: Michelle Stevens & Melinda Gray

Men's' Doubles: Shane Bruce & David Le

Ladies' Singles: Melanie Sergeant

Men's' Singles: Lindsay Phillips

Presidents' Prize: The special, discretionary award for outstanding contribution to the

Club & sportsmanship: Melinda Gray