#### Wakehurst Tennis Club

# Minutes of the 34rd Annual General Meeting, held on the 23rd February 2020

### Opening:

The annual general meeting of the Wakehurst Tennis Club was called to order at 12:23pm on Sunday the 23<sup>rd</sup> of February, 2020 at Wakehurst Golf Club by Wendy Sullivan.

#### Present:

Alan Howes Chris Bird Lindsay Phillips

Elaine Dudgeon Anthony Thompson

Ray Dummett Wendy Sullivan

Danny Mavromatis Ning Stewart Mari Swinbanks

David Le Andrew Todd

Stephanie Phillips Lisa Rush

Melinda Gray Danni Crewes

Guests:

Mark Flogel Christine

Elaine Wooffindin

David Gray

Apologies:

Charlie Phillips Julia Kia Michelle Stevens

Michael Le Page Shane Bruce

### A. Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the previous annual general meeting (submitted by Stephanie Phillips) on the 22<sup>nd</sup> of February 2019 were unanimously approved. SP / EW

### B. **President's Report**

Wendy Sullivan presented the President's Report. A proposal to adopt the report was proposed by Stephanie Phillips, seconded by Anthony Thompson and unanimously approved by those present. A copy of the report is included as Appendix A.

### C. Treasurer's Report

Ning Stewart presented the Treasurer's report. A proposal to adopt the report was put by Lindsay Phillips, seconded by Ray Dummett and approved unanimously by those present. A copy of the report is included as Appendix B.

#### D. Election of Officers

The current committee stood down from their posts and elections were held for a committee to serve during 2020.

**President:** Wendy Sullivan was nominated by Stephanie Phillips and seconded by Ning Stewart. Wendy Sullivan was elected unanimously.

**Vice President:** Melinda Gray was nominated by Wendy Sullivan and seconded by Alan Howes. Melinda Gray was elected unanimously.

**Treasurer:** Ning Stewart was nominated by Ray Dummett and seconded by Anthony Thompson. Ning Stewart was elected unanimously.

Assistant Treasurer: Lisa Rush was appointed by Ning Stewart

**Captain:** Anthony Thompson was nominated by Wendy Sullivan and seconded by Ning Stewart. Anthony Thompson was elected unanimously.

**Vice-Captain:** Anthony and the committee have co-opted the following members to act as Vice Captains; Ning Stewart, Chris Bird, Lindsay Phillips Ray Dummett, Melinda Gray, Danny Mavromatis, Albert, Stephanie Phillips

Social Secretary: Mari Swinbanks, Danny Crewes

**Secretary:** Stephanie Phillips was nominated by Lindsay Phillips and seconded by Ray Dummett. elected unanimously.

Communications Officer: Alan Howes & Andy Todd were reappointed by Wendy Sullivan.

# F. Any Other Business

**A motion of thanks** to Elaine D for her fantastic commitment as social secretary. SP / EW.

**Fees:** Discussion about the financial shortfall (\$832.81). Several options were discussed. Motion to increase the casual fee to \$20 with (and extra \$5 at round robin) SP. LP Passed unanimously.

**Club Championships** –Tournament Director Ray Dummett announced a new format for the tournament. Strict criteria of attendance and participation will be overseen by Ray & Lindsay. Details will follow.

**Tennis Etiquette:** SP spoke to the club culture and etiquette. Members unanimously agree to follow conventional codes of sportsmanship including

- Serving from both ends
- Return balls to the server
- Do not return a fault (if you can avoid it)
- Server to call score before commencing a new game and before serving
- Call your end only
- No talking during the points

• When in doubt, it's in

The members reinforced their view that WTC is a friendly, casual club. It is not a playin club, nor a competition Club. WTC always expects Members to display courtesy and respect for other members. The Club Captains do an excellent job in a very difficult role managing court loads.

**Round Robin**: Discussion around the ability of Dan Murphy's to provide prizes. A new sponsor may be required. Casuals to cost \$25

### Close:

The President thanked outgoing committee Vice-President Elaine W, Elaine D and Alan Howes. The date of the next annual general meeting will be nominated at the end of 2020. Wendy Sullivan adjourned the meeting at 1:05pm.

**Appendix A** – President's Report

**Appendix B** – Treasurer's & Finance Report

# Presentation of trophies to the winners of the 2019 Club Championships

Mixed Doubles: Lindsay Phillips & Mel

Ladies' Doubles: Michelle Stevens & Melinda Gray

Men's' Doubles: Shane Bruce & David Le

Ladies' Singles: Sophie

Men's' Singles: Lindsay Phillips

Presidents' Prize: The special, discretionary award for outstanding contribution to the Club & sportsmanship: Ray Dummett