## **Wakehurst Tennis Club**

Minutes of the 33<sup>nd</sup> Annual General Meeting, held on the 24<sup>th</sup> February 2019

## Opening:

The annual general meeting of the Wakehurst Tennis Club was called to order at 12:16pm on Sunday the 24 of February 2019 at Wakehurst Golf Club by Wendy Sullivan.

#### **Present**:

Alan Howes Chris Bird Lindsay Phillips
Elaine Dudgeon Julia Kia Anthony Thompson
Ray Dummett Elaine Wooffindin Wendy Sullivan
Danny Mavromatis Ning Stewart Mari Swinbanks
Shane Bruce Andrew Todd

Stephanie Phillips

### **Guests**:

Michael Marr

# **Apologies**:

Michael Le Page Lisa David Li Michelle Stevens

Rush

## A. Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the previous annual general meeting on the 12<sup>th</sup> of February 2018 were unanimously approved.

## B. President's Report

Wendy Sullivan presented the President's Report. A proposal to adopt the report was proposed by Stephanie Phillips, seconded by Alan Howes and unanimously approved by those present. A copy of the report is included as Appendix A.

### C. Treasurer's Report

Ning Stewart presented the Treasurer's report. A proposal to adopt the report was put by Lindsay Phillips, seconded by Ray Dummett and approved unanimously by those present. A copy of the report is included as Appendix C.

## D. Election of Officers

The current committee stood down from their posts and elections were held for a committee to serve during 2019.

#### **President**

Wendy Sullivan was nominated by Stephanie Phillips and seconded by Ning Stewart. Wendy Sullivan was elected unanimously.

#### Vice President

Elaine Wooffindin was nominated by Wendy Sullivan and seconded by Alan Howes. Elaine Wooffindin was elected unanimously.

#### **Treasurer**

Ning Stewart was nominated by Ray Dummett and seconded by Anthony Thompson. Ning Stewart was elected unanimously.

Ning asked for an assistant to help with managing the club's finances. Elaine W was nominated for the new position of Assistant Treasurer by Lindsay Phillips and seconded by Stephanie Phillips.

## **Captain**

Anthony Thompson was nominated by Lindsay Phillips and seconded by Ning Stewart. Anthony Thompson was elected unanimously.

### **Vice-Captain**

Anthony and the committee have co-opted the following members to act as Vice Captains; Ning Stewart, Iain Matthews and Chris Bird, Shane Bruce, Danny Mavromatis, Michael Le Paige

## **Secretary**

Stephanie Phillips was nominated by Lindsay Phillips and seconded by Ray Dummett. Stephanie Phillips was elected unanimously.

### **Social Secretary**

Julia Kia and Elaine Dudgeon Mari Swinbanks were appointed by Wendy Sullivan.

## **Communications Officer**

Alan Howes & Andy Todd were appointed by Wendy Sullivan.

## F. Any Other Business

**Tournament Director** - A new role, Tournament Director (TD) to organise all aspects of the Club Championships was discussed. Ray Dummett was elected to the position with Lindsay Phillips as assistant director.

There was a general discussion of the entry criteria for the club championships. Ray Dummett proposed that casual players be admitted to the championships if they have played at least 10 times in the prior 12 months. Some discretion is available to the TD for extenuating circumstances or for players new to the club. This motion was passed unanimously. Ray & Lindsay will generate some regulations to guide administration of the CC going forward.

**Serving from both ends**- discussion of pros & cons. Vote 6 for. 3 against. Motion carried.

Change of ends on odds, 1st serve from north. Sets remain 8 games.

New Rule starts next week.

**Social events** Elaine D asked for ideas & made some suggestions. Will develop some concepts with the Social Committee.

### **ROUND ROBIN**

Discussion around rules for the round robin: arrival times, heat, etc. Wendy Sullivan proposed late comers to round robin inform Anthony before 9.05 or the draw will be closed. Entrants must play all 4 sets,

Motion: Ray & Anthony will develop new guidelines for tournament & Round Robin. Carried

### Close:

Wendy Sullivan adjourned the meeting at 12:45pm. The date of the next annual general meeting will be nominated at the end of 2019.

Minutes of 2018 submitted by Andy Todd

# Presentation of trophies to the winners of the 2018 Club Championships

Mixed Doubles: Lindsay & Stephanie Phillips
Ladies' Doubles: Michelle Stevens & Lisa Rush
Men's' Doubles: Chris Bird & Mike Marr

Ladies' Singles: Tina Watson Men's' Singles: Mike Marr

Presidents" Prize: A new special, discretionary award for outstanding contribution to the Club & sportsmanship: Ning Stewart